Ford and Volkswagen MPV Forums

Large MPVs -- Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra: => Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra => Topic started by: philclemo on May 24, 2012, 10:24:34 AM

Title: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on May 24, 2012, 10:24:34 AM
Hi All

Really like the prospect of adding this feature using VAG Tacho, however, a couple of questions:

1, Our Gal is an Auto and always the gear selected in the lower portion of the MFD. What will happen if I switch the D to E feature on?
2, We don't have any button on the stalks to select a different mode in the MFD (as there are no modes to select I presume), would the D to E display all the time, where would the O/S temp be shown? Or would the two 'values' scroll by themselves?

Cheers!
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: Mirez on May 24, 2012, 10:29:26 AM
Hi!

If you don't have the MFD then you'll need to upgrade to that first - at the moment if you switch it on it still won't do anything without the MFD and stalk :(

Fortunately, since you have vagtacho its just a case of getting the stalk and cluster, you can then change the mileage over yourself.
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on May 24, 2012, 11:45:44 AM
Bugger!
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on May 24, 2012, 04:25:58 PM
Right then!

First of all can anyone give me an idea of part numbers for both the cluster and the stalk so I can go looking.

Secondly, if I upgrade to this, I assume there will be features already 'switched on' on the cluster?

Would the steering wheel have to come of to fit the stalks?

Finally, what have you started Mark?!?
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: Mirez on May 24, 2012, 05:07:03 PM
lol - I've done nothing :D

The cluster, you just need a 2.3 one from a Ghia model - ensure its an auto and from the same year(ish) - the stalk there's nothing special about, it just has the extra three buttons.

If you get the new cluster with trip inbuilt then everything is enabled by default, the only exception is the D2E function which you can do with VagTacho

Yes, the wheel has to come off - don't be put off by that though as its an easy job if you take your time. There is a how-to in the reference library.
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on May 29, 2012, 11:57:12 AM
Hi Mark

Does the cluster need to be for a 2.3 petrol? I've found this (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ford-galaxy-mk2-tdi-auto-dash-clocks-/180890339840?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item2a1de78a00) on that auction site. It's from a Ghia Auto but TDi.

Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: Mirez on May 29, 2012, 01:20:25 PM
Yes it will have to be from a 2.3, the rev counter's not high enough on the TDI :D
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on May 29, 2012, 02:01:35 PM
Doh! I knew that!!!!
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: philclemo on June 20, 2012, 11:02:17 AM
Slightly off topic but could the VagTacho lead be used as VagCom, i.e. just different software needed? Not a problem if it's not as they are inexpensive to buy.
 
Last year I bought an Autel VAGcom handheld scanner, which does read codes for both the VW side and the engine. It will only display trouble codes though, it doesn't give diagnostics.

Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: Mirez on June 20, 2012, 01:52:07 PM
I believe the answer is unfortunately no, its wired differently :(
Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: dragosbdm on November 15, 2015, 05:58:35 PM
Hello!
My instrument cluster is a simple one. (my opinion). I don't have the center display (mini or maxi), I don't have Cruise control and Trip Computer. I only want to upgrade it with a trip computer. Regarding that I have some question:
1. Is it possible to activate Trip computer (instant fuel consumption, average fuel consumption) in the time display (down left of the IC). I sow this on some Passat and Octavia. Is necessary to change the IC to do this?
2. If #1 not possible, what should I do to have TC on my car? What parts do I need? What software?
3. I tried to disassemble my IC. After I loosened the screws, I could not pull off IC. I understand that IC would be caught in something above the coolant temperature gouges. How can I pull off the IC?

Title: Re: Distance to Empty feature
Post by: bony6777 on November 18, 2015, 10:26:35 AM
Hello!
My instrument cluster is a simple one. (my opinion). I don't have the center display (mini or maxi), I don't have Cruise control and Trip Computer. I only want to upgrade it with a trip computer. Regarding that I have some question:
1. Is it possible to activate Trip computer (instant fuel consumption, average fuel consumption) in the time display (down left of the IC). I sow this on some Passat and Octavia. Is necessary to change the IC to do this?
2. If #1 not possible, what should I do to have TC on my car? What parts do I need? What software?
3. I tried to disassemble my IC. After I loosened the screws, I could not pull off IC. I understand that IC would be caught in something above the coolant temperature gouges. How can I pull off the IC?
On a passat and golf TC on a clocks side is on on pre 99 cars.it's can't be activated, IC must have this  feature in. If I remember correctly,to remove cluster you need to slide something like ruller to top middle pert to unclip top clip.and of course remove to bottom screws.