Ford and Volkswagen MPV Forums

Large MPVs -- Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra: => Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra => Topic started by: Leicester Lad on February 27, 2014, 07:07:37 PM

Title: Double DIN Radio
Post by: Leicester Lad on February 27, 2014, 07:07:37 PM
Has anyone fitted a Double DIN radio to replace a single DIN one ?

At the moment there is a cheapo  aftermarket one fitted which I don't like.

I am hoping to fit the one that came out of my Scorpio and just wondering if it will be a straight swop regarding the radio connectors.
Title: Re: Double DIN Radio
Post by: Orbis on February 27, 2014, 07:51:57 PM
If the car originally had the 2006 rds radio, It will not fit. The 2006 rds has ISO connectors.
If it was the 2007 rds I think the power and steering stalk connector will fit but the connector for the speakers will not because of the separated amplifier.
As there is an aftermarket radio in now I think it has the ISO connectors.
And the radio on your photo's is a 1,5DIN.
To fit a larger radio you need to take the black compartment out and also cut some plastic away.
So you will need at least one other connector if I'm right.

Title: Re: Double DIN Radio
Post by: Leicester Lad on February 27, 2014, 08:26:10 PM
Unfortunately I have no idea what model the original radio was.
The Scorpio had radio controls on the steering stalk but my Galaxy does not have that feature.

I didn't realise there was a seperate amp for the radio in the pic.

Looks as if i'm going to have to live with the aftermarket piece of c**p then.   :(
Title: Re: Double DIN Radio
Post by: Mirez on February 27, 2014, 08:28:01 PM
You need to pull it out really and see what you are dealing with.
Title: Re: Double DIN Radio
Post by: Orbis on February 27, 2014, 10:34:01 PM
No, I mean that the 2007 rds has a separated amplifier which is right under the radio. So if the car had that radio originally, it's mayby still there. But that's not really important. It just has a different connector for the speakers and you probably need another connector anyway. (Mayby also another antenna connector)

The radio in the pic doesn't need an amplifier. It's built in.
So there's still hope.  ;)

But like Mirez says, you need to see what you're dealing with.