Ford and Volkswagen MPV Forums

Large MPVs -- Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra: => Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra => Topic started by: Rob Cavendish on August 05, 2018, 07:54:47 PM

Title: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 05, 2018, 07:54:47 PM
Hello everyone,
Has anyone suffered this issue that I am having with my air con control? The system is fully gassed, has no faults recorded and sometimes (seems to be when the weather is cooler) works fine. However, more often it does not work correctly. If everything is good, I get a single relay click from the climatronic and the clutch engages, a few minutes later, another click and it disengages and all is good. Sometimes however, there are no clicks from the climatronic and the clutch will not engage, often then at a ranfom period later, there is a real tune played by the climatronic with relays clicking in and out at a terrific rate, this usually settles down and the clutch will engage, but only briefly, before dropping out again, long before the evaporator is very cold. I can't seem to find a decent wiring diagram for the climatronic, does anyone have one?
Thanks,
Rob
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: johnnyroper on August 05, 2018, 11:16:24 PM
Donít have a drawing but it sounds like either the air con relay is breaking down or the climatronic panel is playing up not keeping relay energised.

Or the high pressure switch is operating,this kind of makes sense as you say when itís colder air con works better, what refrigerant level is in your car is it possible it has been gassed for the rear air con when it does not have it?
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: johnnyroper on August 05, 2018, 11:19:30 PM
Another thought you say the compressor kicks in does the cooling fan come in aswell?
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 06, 2018, 07:54:32 PM
Thanks your thoughts Johnny. I actually have three climatronics and I have tried them all with exactly the same result. I know that there is just about 1kg of gas in the system, as I filled it myself. According to the wiring diagrams I have been able to find the climatronic gives a 'go' signal to the air con relay. I think therefore it must be a signal into the climatronic that is causing the issue, but I don't know what these signals are. The car has an evaporator temp sensor and a sunlight sensor, but I don't know what pins they are wired to, or the signal range either. I thought that the high pressure switch was used to start the fans?  from what you describe this is used as an inhibit on this system? On a very hot day, as we have had recently, the system may not start at all and the static system pressure is at about 135 psi, do you know what pressure the hp switch should operate at? this system has the 'two in one' pressure switch mounted on the drier.
 Certainly when the compressor runs the cooling fans run as well, this is a two fan system and they both run.
Thanks again,
Rob
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: brianh on August 06, 2018, 08:57:52 PM
It would help to confirm if you have the rear air con as most don't. Do you have vents above the rear seats?
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 06, 2018, 09:11:21 PM
No. there is no rear air con.
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: brianh on August 06, 2018, 09:22:08 PM
Have a close look at your rating plate, as it shows both charge levels. I don't have a mk1 anymore, but 1050g is the dual zone (with rear) on the mk2, so i'd suspect yours should have a figure next to the 1 for single zone, around 700g going by the mk2.

If its overcharged then the symptoms you report would make sense to me.
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 06, 2018, 09:29:57 PM
Just a thought, has anyone had any success getting  accurate wiring schematics from the Ford ETIS system? £15 for a day would be worthwhile if I could get the drawings that I need.
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 06, 2018, 09:36:43 PM
Hi Brian, I've double checked, it says 950 + 50 for a single system and 1350 + 50 for a dual system.
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: brianh on August 06, 2018, 09:50:12 PM
Yeah i've discovered that from TIS now, its changed from mk1 to mk2.

Is the attached any help? Thats from the older TIS?
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: johnnyroper on August 07, 2018, 12:51:50 AM
The HP switch will inhibit the air con much like LP switch does,if the system is over pressurised or if condenser fan is not running it will increase heat which in turn increases the pressure.

135 sounds very high static pressure to me,my Alfa 159 was tested at around 40psi static today on the low side.

Personally o would get the system evacuated,vacuumed and charged to correct level first so you know exactly where you are.
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: Rob Cavendish on August 07, 2018, 08:44:52 PM
Thanks Brian, That does look useful, I will print out the relevant pages and this definitely gives me something to go on.
Johnny, I've just checked the vapour pressure curve for R134a and 135 psi equates to about 35 deg C, which I think was not far off on the day in question, especially in the sun! I've also seen it down around 75 psi on an average summer day, at about 17 deg C. For R134a at least, 40 psi equates to about -2 deg C; of course all these pressures are static, that is, with the compressor not running. With the compressor running, I typically see about 35 psi on the low side, about -5 deg C. I hope that this makes sense :)
Title: Re: Galaxy mk1 2.3 Ghia air con control via climatronic
Post by: johnnyroper on August 07, 2018, 10:54:39 PM
When you say you filled it yourself to 1kg did you use a proper machine that evacuated and vac down prior to recharge? Also how much pag oil went in?

All your symptoms point to a high pressure fault