Ford and Volkswagen MPV Forums

Large MPVs -- Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra: => Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra => Topic started by: martcool on June 27, 2012, 05:01:45 PM

Title: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 27, 2012, 05:01:45 PM
hi there my run on pump is not working if i hit it with somethink it works ok but not for long my car is over heating at speed over 70mph i had new water pump fitted 1 weak ago  so that ok i want to put new brushes in it but can not find the right ones in the modal shop only do 5mmx3mmx10mm but u say they have to be 5mmx5mmx10mm are the ones i can get ok to use or do u no were i can get the right ones thanks for all your help martin
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: SilverBeast on June 27, 2012, 08:42:19 PM
They won't fit properly.  You can get bigger and file/sand them down.  The material is soft, like pencil lead.  That's what I did with the ones in the post.  They started out like this

[attach=1]

I got 5 pairs from here http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Electric-Motor-Brush-Replacement-Set1-2-x-5-16-x-1-4-/320924222316?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ab893036c (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Electric-Motor-Brush-Replacement-Set1-2-x-5-16-x-1-4-/320924222316?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ab893036c) on ebay, in case I made a mistake when reducing them.  I read on another Forum when I was researching about a specific set of model car brushes that fitted but couldn't find them.  If you can find a set where the wire braid enters from the side they will be better to use as that is what the originals use.  The spring presses on the end of the brush (where the wire enters in my case) and you need to file a groove for it to seat in, without damaging the connection between the braid and the brush.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 27, 2012, 09:02:51 PM
ok thanks for your help so as long as i get bigger with side fiting will be beter i go to a tool hire shop tomorrow they fix all parts now  i no i can just get bigger they must have somethink there i can fix with thanks for your help
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 30, 2012, 05:29:21 PM
hi there just to let u no my run on pump now is working all ok put new brushes in and away i go thanks
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 30, 2012, 05:37:54 PM
hi there now i have done the run on pump it sill over heats i had water pump done weak ago with cam belt they put on a pattern part i have bin told u have to put on geniune parts for the pump to work right in galaxys do u think a pump 1 weak old could be my problen thanks for your help
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Mirez on June 30, 2012, 05:44:59 PM
There's no requirement to use genuine parts, the only thing you should do is ensure you get a metal impeller pump fitted and not one of the earlier plastic type ones as they are likely to fail again.

You possibly have a head gasket fault which would be the next thing to get checked.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 30, 2012, 06:43:35 PM
hi there no the head gasket is all ok i have had that checked and all ok i dont no what pump they put on but i bin messing rounld with it and when it gets hot the rad seems to be cold and the fans do not come on at all so i think may be the rad blocked thanks for your help
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: SilverBeast on June 30, 2012, 07:01:43 PM
(i) Your thermostat may be stuck shut, not allowing the water to flow through the radiator.
(ii) You may have an airlock.  I seem to recall that this can happen if it is filled too quickly after draining - like when you have a new water pump fitted.
(iii) I vaguely recall that the hose that returns coolant to the reservoir can become blocked.

I believe the temperature switch for the fans is on the radiator, so if it is cold it won't try and turn them on. As the fans only suck air through the radiator to cool the water in that turning on when the radiator is cold wouldn't make a great deal of difference.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on June 30, 2012, 08:23:36 PM
YES TOO DAYS AGO I PUT NEW thermostat IN AS WELL SO ITS NOT THAT I AM GOING TO TAKE RAD OF TO C IF ITS OK I LET U NO FROM THAT THANKS
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on July 03, 2012, 02:32:33 PM
RIGHT LOOKED AT RAD ALL OK BIN OUT WITH IT IT DONE DONE IT YET NO OVER HEATING SO WILL HAVE TO JUST WAIT AND C THANKS
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Mirez on July 03, 2012, 02:49:08 PM
Mart, please stop typing in CAPS!  8)

Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on October 22, 2012, 08:53:27 PM
hi there can u help i fixed my run on pump about 4 months and now its playing up agen sometimes it comes on sometimes it dont do u think the bushes have gone agen or am i beter of to bye a new pump and do u no were i can get one cheep thanks do u think its ok to drive with it not working thanks
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Mirez on October 24, 2012, 06:55:12 PM
It'll be fine to drive but change it when possible. Brushes are made from diferent materials for different strengths and because the pump runs non stop with the engine, cheper ones may wear out quicker.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: martcool on October 24, 2012, 11:20:32 PM
ok thanks for your help some one said to me it will make my head gasket go agen if i drive it it is working most of the time i may take it apart and put new ones in agen c hw long it lasts then thanks
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Chrispb on October 25, 2012, 12:08:28 AM
Correct it's primary purpose is to stop hot spots after engine switch off, and the additional function of circulation through the rear heater matrix and correct operation of booster heater.
So in your interest to get it fixed ASAP
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Joey P on December 03, 2013, 12:14:40 AM
The clips that hold the hoses to the run on pump!
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Joey P on December 03, 2013, 12:19:39 AM
 :)
Did not mean to hit enter.

Having tried (without success so far) pliers of several sizes to open clips and push down far enough to pull out hose.
Scared of damaging the smaller hoses below if I force the run on pump hose down & out using brute leverage.

Wondering now, if there if there is a special set or specific tool that can do this job.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Mirez on December 03, 2013, 08:18:16 AM
Open the clip, then slide it down the pipe about an inch. You can let go of it there and it won't effect anything. Next lightly grab the rubber where the clip was and rotate it - should free and allow you to slide it off.
Title: Re: run on pump
Post by: Chrispb on December 03, 2013, 02:09:24 PM
There is a special tool availablehttp://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sealey-VS1663-Flexible-Long-Reach-Remote-Action-Hose-Clip-Pliers-Hand-Tool-/141116745150?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item20db36a5be (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sealey-VS1663-Flexible-Long-Reach-Remote-Action-Hose-Clip-Pliers-Hand-Tool-/141116745150?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item20db36a5be)  for these clips but pliers can be used, I usually replace these clips with the jubilee type as they are easier to work with .