Ford and Volkswagen MPV Forums

Large MPVs -- Ford Galaxy / VW Sharan / SEAT Alhambra: => Mk3 Ford Galaxy / Ford S-Max => Topic started by: chunk1270 on May 08, 2014, 11:47:29 AM

Title: brake warning lamp
Post by: chunk1270 on May 08, 2014, 11:47:29 AM
HI guys

 Just fit new handbrake to the car and the warning lamp wont go out.
Does anybody have any ideas?

 many thanks
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: insanitybeard on May 08, 2014, 11:54:54 AM
Do you mean a new handbrake lever? Just checking the obvious but there's usually a switch on the handbrake lever unit which opens/ closes when the handbrake is on or off which controls the warning lamp, is the switch all connected ok? Is the cable to the switch trapped in anything which may have damaged it or caused it to short out?
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: chunk1270 on May 08, 2014, 12:02:45 PM
Thanks for reply
 Yes its a new handbrake lever from ford due to the button cable snapped.
The plug is a nice fit and the cable seems in good condition. The car was run with the handbrake in the on posistion with cables disconnected so was wondering if it needs a computer to wipe off the warning?
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: insanitybeard on May 08, 2014, 06:11:03 PM
I'd be surprised if that was the cause as the car would have to have some way of monitoring handbrake actuation at the rear calipers, which to my knowledge it doesn't have, nor does it have anything electronic in the lever assembly requiring initialisation, though as always I stand to be corrected. Are you able to locate the switch and try to actuate it manually by hand to see if that causes the lamp to switch off and on?
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: chunk1270 on May 08, 2014, 06:16:01 PM
Hi mate

 yes i tried that still no joy. going to try fuses and maybe put multi meter on wire to see if a current is present
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: insanitybeard on May 08, 2014, 06:24:34 PM
If the (electrical) cable is definitely sound and not damaged then the only other thing I can think of, is did the vehicle move whilst you had the handbrake lever in the on position with the cables disconnected whilst the the ignition was on/ engine running? If so, the vehicle may have seen this as a fault (in that it shouldn't have been able to move), in which case it may require a fault code to be cleared. I'm not sure if this could be the case, but it's a possibility.
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: chunk1270 on May 08, 2014, 06:29:12 PM
thought of that one but no codes unless the new handbrake warning switch is faulty. as it comes pre fit on the new assembly. ive still got the old one so can give it a try. will let you all know the outcome
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: insanitybeard on May 08, 2014, 06:35:10 PM
Does the lamp go out if you disconnect the connector to the switch and try earthing it manually, instead of through the switch? (I'm assuming the switch earths a constant 12v feed present with the ignition on BUT check first!)
Title: Re: brake warning lamp
Post by: Mirez on May 08, 2014, 07:28:14 PM
Normally, they are fairly basic circuits where the supply from the instrument cluster is grounded when the brake it applied.

Unplugging the switch should put the light out and if so would indicate a dodgy switch - IIRC the plunger bit screws in/out for adjustment so check it has enough free movement.